About the Directorate


Public Libraries were opened in Tamil Nadu as per the “Tamil Nadu Public Libraries Act, 1948”. The Directorate of Public Libraries was formed in 1972 in order to improve the library services.

The following libraries are functioning in the State under the control of the Directorate of Public Libraries.

1 Connemara Public Library 1
2 Anna Centenary Library 1
2 Kalaignar Centenary Library 1
3 District Central Libraries 32
4 Full Time Branch Libraries 314
4 Branch Libraries 1612
5 Mobile Libraries 14
6 Village Libraries 1915
7 Part-Time Libraries 771
  Total 4661

This apart, libraries have been functioning at places such as hospitals, prisons and passport offices to cater to the needs of the users.